Considering a Drastic Career Change

StephenPBarrettStephenPBarrett Adviser
edited March 2011 in Spurious Generalities
I have recently been given the possible opportunity of a lifetime in the for of a career change. Currently I work as a cook which I enjoy and the pay is is OK for living comfortably and saving. Tonight I was offered a career as a glorified delivery boy. I would be driving across states picking up and delivering loads but would not be driving an 18 Wheeler so the extra liscense would not be necessary.

DOS forces all drivers to keep a log of time spent driving and resting which prohibits over 10 hours of straight driving and less than 8 hours of sleeping. This job would afford me seeing the country and would pay twice as much as I'm making now. The vehicle would be paid for by the company as would fuel. My only financial worries outside of emergencies would be my phone bill and eating. I would be on the road for weeks sometimes but I've never had a problem with long drives, having visited relatives many hours away every year and my 2 1/2 day journey back home after living in California. My problem is seeing cons in making this decision. Here is my list so far:
  • Boredom
  • Long hours on the road
  • No more home cooked meals
  • The dangers of being on the road constantly
  • Sleep deprivation (if needed)
  • Not as much time for totse
  • Leaving everything I know behind

I haven't made a decision on this yet. I am going to be talking to a lot of people to get their opinions and would like your unbiased opinions as well. Please share any pros and cons you might think of.

Comments

• BigHarryDickBigHarryDick Cock Bite
    edited February 2011
    Stay off the road, thats the only good advice i have.

Its not worth it.

And i still think your a fag/
  • edited February 2011