How to make a strategic plan?

RemadERemadE Global Moderator
edited March 2011 in Man Cave
Hey guys, as a History student I study a lot of these maps, but not in the detail I would like to:
300px-Waterloo_Campaign_map-alt3.svg

campaign2.gif

Now I understand the significance etc of them, but how do you go about planning them? Are there any PC simulators for this kind of thing? I'd love to do a few test runs on places I know or similar and see the outcome.

Comments

• edited March 2011
    Couldn't you just get an aerial shot of a location using Google maps, and then draw all over it in MSPAINT or even by hand?
  • RemadERemadE Global Moderator
    edited March 2011
    trx100 wrote: »
    Couldn't you just get an aerial shot of a location using Google maps, and then draw all over it in MSPAINT or even by hand?

Well yeah, but I suppose you'd need a Military mind and use your options. I'll give it a go, but was wondering if there were programs you could use or more info.
  • edited March 2011
    Programs to design a military campaign? I don't think so, Tim.

If you're planning a campaign you have to consider logistics, relative strengths, tactics, local opinion, politics, a billion other factors, and probably most importantly, you need a fuckload of luck. There's no formula for military success.
  • acid_dropacid_drop Regular
    edited March 2011
    Programs to design a military campaign? I don't think so, Tim.

If you're planning a campaign you have to consider logistics, relative strengths, tactics, local opinion, politics, a billion other factors, and probably most importantly, you need a fuckload of luck. There's no formula for military success.

This is pretty close to reality.

There is no computer sim that is comparable to experience and knowledge.