Psychlonic's Survival and Frugal Living Thread

PsychlonicPsychlonic Regular
edited December 2011 in Life
Hello all, for as long as I can even remember I've had a pretty big fascination with survival and the idea of living off the land with zero support from civilization as we know it. In the past two years or so, I have started to take this far more seriously and have been in the experimentation and learning process. I frequently learn and practice new ideas as I come across ones I see fit for consumption, so I figured it might interest some of you to read my successes and failures as I happen upon them. I am by no means an expert but I'm learning.

To start with is a trip I took around the end of July that I posted at another website but seeing as survival was far from the forum's point you might be more interested than they are. I add lots of personal thoughts you may or may not agree with, but they're there for the consideration.

So this trip was something of a "survival sim" I went on with a buddy we'll simply call "Yeoman". He's somebody I practice survival skills alongside of and we like to get out into the woods from time to time to test what we've learned. In this case, we went to a high desert region with a nearby river to see how well we'd fare with relatively minimal supplies. He had an ALICE pack half-full of stuff and I carried my LBV and a small 72 hour pack behind that. Worth noting is that neither of us had a shelter or sleeping bag, we would have to make our own.

For the most part we carried similar load outs even if they appeared different. We both had compact mess kits to cook and eat with, fire starting materials, first aid kits, water carrying apparatus, knives, change of clothes and cordage. The bare bones essentials if one were to try to leave for a long term period. He also had a .22 rifle and I opted to gimp myself and only carry a machete.