Remains of 274 Soldiers Dumped in Virginia Landfill

RemadERemadE Global Moderator
edited December 2011 in Spurious Generalities
This isn't an America bashing threade as I think this concerns everyone. Not much text, just a video that even shocked me as I have had friends die in Afghan and Iraq.

Here.

Comments

• ArkansanArkansan Regular
    edited December 2011
    So supposedly the Air Force had no way to identify all of the fragmented remains? So they cremated and tossed them in the dump, everyone complicit in this needs their ass strung up. Even if they couldn't identify all of them, how fucking hard could it be to cremate them, place the ashes in an urn and build a small mausoleum dedicated to the unknown dead, at least that way they could have a decent resting place. I have a brother in the Army and the thought of something like this makes my blood boil.
  • Darth BeaverDarth Beaver Meine Ehre heißt Treue
    edited December 2011
    I am a veteran and it does not surprise me in the least unfortunately.
  • GoingNowhereGoingNowhere Global Moderator
    edited December 2011
    My God...... That is absolutely disgraceful.
  • dr rockerdr rocker Regular
    edited December 2011
    It would be interesting to know a little more - for instance, at what looks like a horror show to begin with could be explained away as something a lot more simple. It could be that these were body parts that had been recovered apart from the main bulk of an individuals remains, things removed in operations trying to save the dead, tarpaulins covered in blood and gore that had carried dying or dead soldier. After all, if you have your leg amputated in hospital or lose it in an accident, they do not preserve it for when you die at a later date, they burn it and get rid of it.