Making a CV, any tips?

RemadERemadE Global Moderator
edited February 2012 in Life
So everyone has this idea of a Curriculum Vitae, laying out all your qualifications and experiences over life but I was wondering if anyone has had any luck with more exotic designs or a different way than just black text on a white page. I have no problem putting in my experiences and qualifications (including funky language to maybe bulk it out if need be).
Anyone been in this situation? It's easy enough, but I was thinking of giving it that extra flair. Google has been soemthing of a help with people who make ridiculously colourful and outrageous CVs, but just thought I could start a healthy discussion on ToTSEans' experiences with these little job-getters.

Comments

• Darth BeaverDarth Beaver Meine Ehre heißt Treue
    edited January 2012
    I have been using a an MS Word Template for about the last ten years.
  • RemadERemadE Global Moderator
    edited January 2012
    Never really thought about the MSWord template. Dad swears by it. It's just that one of my assignments this year (yes, University assignments) is to write a CV. Thought I'd see if there are any funky tips out there. There were ones that were shaped in funny ways or with a subtle colour layout that caught my eye, but will start writing out the basics now. Don't even know how many GCSEs I got at school. Way too long ago to remember. Let alone College grades. I was just like "well, I passed" and remember getting straight A's in General Studies as I turned up stoned to every one and managed to blag it (General Studies = current affairs subject that you can't really revise for other than to read the news). The essay on Al Gore and Climate Change was a laugh. As were caveman art and whether or not art is a legitimate "thing" in our society.

Yeah, writing that stoned. I think I got 6 sides of A4 done. Oh those were the days.
  • GoingNowhereGoingNowhere Global Moderator
    edited January 2012