San Pedro Cactus/Mescaline extraction

SHANE14SHANE14 Regular
edited June 2011 in Man Cave
So I've recently acquired a large amount of "san pedro" cactus and I was just wondering on how I shouls go about getting the most out of it. Basically, I want to ask whether just peeling, coreing, and drying the flesh of the cactus would result in anything worth consuming. Or should I attempt at a more thorough extraction method with the dried flesh?

Honestly I have little to no chemistry experience so I'm unsure whether attempting an extraction would be worth the effort and cost or should I just eat the dried cactus as is?

Any opinions or advice will be appreciated. I really have no experience with this kind of thing and normally wouldn't bother, except for the fact that I've got a pretty much infinite supply of the stuff and I quite fancy the idea of tripping off my own product.

Comments

• Gary OakGary Oak Regular
    edited May 2011
    It seems complicated. Someday I think I might do it though, simply because I want to trip hard on mescaline.
  • jamie madroxjamie madrox Sith Lord
    edited May 2011
    This method is better than just eating the cacti.
    http://www.erowid.org/plants/cacti/cacti_preparation5.shtml

This is a fairly in-dept mescaline extraction. I wouldn't recomend it unless you know what you're doing.
    http://forums.mycotopia.net/mescaline-cacti-succulents/7933-mescaline-extraction-tek.html
    There is also a recipe for an alcohol extraction that produces resin on the same page.
  • SHANE14SHANE14 Regular
    edited May 2011
    This method is better than just eating the cacti.
    http://www.erowid.org/plants/cacti/cacti_preparation5.shtml

This is a fairly in-dept mescaline extraction. I wouldn't recomend it unless you know what you're doing.
    http://forums.mycotopia.net/mescaline-cacti-succulents/7933-mescaline-extraction-tek.html
    There is also a recipe for an alcohol extraction that produces resin on the same page.