first gun purchase.

ScuDScuD Regular
edited September 2010 in Man Cave
i am by no means a pro when it comes to firearms. but i have enjoyed more than a session a moth at the shooting range for the past year or so. i would like to get my license now that i am getting into my own place, and i was wondering if there are any suggestions you could hand my way. i was thinking a handgun..i am a little nervous about owning a rifle, I've handled hunting rifle's before. i'm talking about those guys i see at the range with guns that look like military grade weapons. like ACR's, SIG 550's and i saw a guy with what looked like an m4. pretty intense.

Comments

• acid_dropacid_drop Regular
    edited September 2010
    Are you located in the U.S.?

And what makes you more nervous of a rifle than a handgun. 90 percent of the time, negligent discharges and accidental shootings happen with handguns. It's all about being safe with weapons, and understanding that you never point it at something you don't fully intend to kill- loaded or not.

What makes a semi-automatic any more "military-grade" than a bolt action hunting rifle? Plenty of semi-autos are modeled after military armament, difference is- no fun switch.

I carried an M4 and an M14A4SDM overseas, and tend to shoot Ar15's when I have the chance. It's a platform I'm very comfortable with, and know how to use effectively.

Don't judge a weapon is evil because it has a counterpart in the hands of soldiers. All of your firearms are based off of technology developed for war.

ANYWAY back on subject what are you looking for in a firearm? In the U.S. you must be 21 or over to own a handgun. 18 for rifles in most states. What do you have experience shooting? Including weapon types and calibers. Shoot as much variety as you can to get a better understanding of what you like. I can shoot a 5.56 rifle all day, but a .40cal pistol gets old pretty quick.