Learning to program

CrazzyassCrazzyass Regular
edited February 2011 in Tech & Games
I have been interested in programming for a very long time and I feel like it would compliment my mechanical/electrical projects nicely, not to mention open up a whole new field to me.

I am currently a complete noob, more or less, when it comes to the field and so I was wondering if T&T had any recommendations for starting out and teaching yourself how to program.

Thank you!

Comments

• duuudeduuude Regular
    edited January 2011
    What are you interested in doing?

If your interested in web development HTML and JavaScript aren't hard to learn at all. I don't know PHP myself, but it doesn't look like it would be very challenging either.

If your wanting to write applications and get jobs.. learning C++, Java, and Visual Basic would all be necessary.

I've never used or tried to learn Ruby or Python myself, but I've constantly read about how user friendly they are and how easy they are to learn.

You might want to start by researching and few languages and figuring out what you want to learn first.. then start checking for forums, tutorials, source code, etc. There aren't many coders here but I'm sure there are plenty of people who can share links or point you in the right direction.
  • thewandererthewanderer Regular
    edited January 2011
    There are tutorials for several different languages here
    http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp
  • CrazzyassCrazzyass Regular
    edited January 2011
    Serious thanks to both of you.

To duuude: I somewhat want some general knowledge. Website design would be a great skill and designing my own apps would also be great, so I suppose both sides of that coin. Mostly I would like to be able to work with programmable machines and robots.
  • edited January 2011