European views of the American Civil War.

ArkansanArkansan Regular
edited April 2012 in Spurious Generalities
I have always wondered what the view of the American Civil War was in Europe and the rest of the world at large was, and since I know that some of the members here are from outside the states I thought this a good place to ask. So what exactly do you think? Who was right? What really were the issues behind it? Or is it something you have ever even considered?

Comments

• RemadERemadE Global Moderator
    edited April 2012
    I studied it and first off, I still don't get the term "Civil War" as George Carlin expresses perfectly here:

The South were told to my Class that they were more gentry, agrarian and obviously were shit scared of black people. Then again so weere the North which is what made me laugh as it's basically the lesser of the two evils. North had industry (hence the defeat of the South) whereas the South had farming and other not-so-battle useful items.
    Nobody was right. Both had good points, obviously the whole race thing is still kicked around today so that got nowhere. As for the Nation, it just tore it apart and as for why it started, at least the South had the balls to make their own confederacy. Would love to see it happen nowadays and the reaction of Obama. My cynical attitude got me nowhere in my Module, but fuck it. I'd rather stick to my guns than accept some interpretation made up by a lowly, sun-lacking historian who needs money.
    Fuck. That's me.

Lol just realised I'm listening to Brantley Gilbert.

And for the lulz

• ArkansanArkansan Regular
    edited April 2012