Help with el español

fanglekaifanglekai Regular
edited July 2010 in Life
I have a master's degree in the language, and I taught it at a university for 2 years. If you have (serious) questions about it, I will answer them in this thread.

Comments

• skyclaw441skyclaw441 Regular
    edited July 2010
    Thank you very much. I have a question about the usage of the neuter pronouns. I really don't have a great concept of when to use them. I know to use it in a sentence like "ella es lo mejor", because mejor kinda has no gender and is thus neuter. But I'm still fucking confused.
  • fanglekaifanglekai Regular
    edited July 2010
    In that case you'd say Ella es la mejor. La in this case refers to ella.

As far as neuter pronouns go, we have lo and ello. Don't confuse lo (neuter) with lo (masc.).

El libro está en la mesa. No lo tengo.

Lo here refers to el libro, so it's masculine.

Lo sé.

Lo here is referring to a concept, an abstraction basically, so it's neuter. Compare this to:

Los conozco.

I know them (los here is a direct object pronoun meaning them.)

Todo lo que tengo, te doy a ti.

Everything I have, I give to you. Lo in this case is neuter because it's not referring to a specific object. It's an abstraction. Compare it with this:

Todo el dinero que tengo, te lo doy.

All the money I have, I give it to you. In this sentence the lo is referring to the money that you give to the other person. The lo here is a masc. direct object pronoun because its antecedent (the thing it is referring to) is el dinero, a singular, masculine noun.

As for your original example, we can say this:

Mi carro es el mejor (de todos los carros).
    Mi casa es la mejor (de todas las casas).

If you want it to be neuter, it must not refer to anything concrete:

Lo mejor de todo es que me dio 10 dólares.