Insult or compliment?

MeloncholyMeloncholy Regular
edited January 2011 in Spurious Generalities
There's a famous Winston Churchill quote that I've been mulling over. It was a remark concerning his political oponent Clement Attlee and is regarded as a fine example of his wit and ability to make a stinging insult.

"Mr. Attlee is a very modest man. Indeed he has a lot to be modest about.”

I've been chewing it over, and the more I think about it the more it seems like a compliment and not an insult at all. Surely, modesty implies that one has some degree of talent about which to be modest?

If you say "I'm not very good at football" and you genuinely are not very good at football, then this is not being modest but being honest? If you say it and you just happen to be David Beckham, then that is being very modest.

:confused:

Comments

• AmieAmie Regular
    edited January 2011
    I think it's because mr. Atlee was not very modest at all. If you're david beckham and you're always talking about football - even though you're always telling people Pele was, is and will always be the greatest player of all times and you'll never be as good as he was- you're still constantly reminding people of the fact that you're pretty darn great and people constantly remind you about it.
  • DfgDfg Admin
    edited January 2011
    Could it be sarcasm? I fail it ANY history so I don't really know the whole back story :(.
  • MayberryMayberry Regular
    edited January 2011
    Dfg wrote: »
    Could it be sarcasm? I fail it American history so I don't really know the whole back story :(.

Because it's British history :o
  • DfgDfg Admin
    edited January 2011
    Mayberry wrote: »
    Because it's British history :o

Fuck the British :(. It's a bitch telling difference between a Chinese and a Japanese. You expect me tell who is American or British just by reading the name!
  • Darth BeaverDarth Beaver Meine Ehre heißt Treue
    edited January 2011